Culture Collections - Algae

Australian National Algae Culture Collection

This unique bank of Australian biodiversity contains marine and freshwater microalgal classes sourced from tropical Australia to Antarctica.

October 9, 2019

The Australian National Algae Culture Collection (ANACC) is housed at the Hobart laboratories of CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research. The collection consists of 1000 strains of more than 300 microalgae species. These are listed in the Collection Strain Database. Aligned with the collection is the CSIRO Microalgae Supply Service which provides microalgal strains as ‘starter cultures’ to industry, research organisations and universities in more than 50 countries. The service is the supplier of starter cultures to the Australian aquaculture industry, for which microalgae are the essential first foods for larval and juvenile animals.

Visit the website.