Event News

Entries open for this year’s Aquaculture Awards

The deadline for awards entries is February 12 and finalists will be announced by the judges on March 6.

Aquaculture UK 2022-118
Credits: Aquaculture UK
January 5, 2024

Entries are now open for the Aquaculture Awards 2024, which celebrates the exceptional achievements of the sector over the past year. The awards, to be announced at a gala dinner during the Aquaculture UK exhibition in Aviemore on May 15, are presented annually to individuals, businesses and projects making a notable impact on the industry, at home or abroad.

With 13 categories, the awards honor the hard work and high standards across the aquaculture community, from pioneering management practices to farm-level innovation, and from gold standard suppliers to trailblazing technology.

On top of prizes for Rising Star, Unsung Hero, Farmer of the Year, Supplier of the Year, Best New Start Up and, new for 2024, Producer of the Year, the awards recognize the best collaborations, most sustainable enterprises, stunning innovations, impressive community initiatives, and consistent champions of animal welfare.

The popular award for Outstanding Contribution is a chance for the sector to vote for the person they think has transformed the world of aquaculture, whether through long years of service, game-changing ideas, or as a leading communicator and industry ambassador. The winner will be chosen by the sector and announced on that night.

There will also be the Judges’ Special Recognition award, selected by the judging panel from the awards' entries, for the candidate or company demonstrating admirable commitment and a responsible approach to aquaculture.

Joining the team of judges this year is independent aquaculture auditor and consultant Malcolm Johnstone, a well-known and respected sector figure through his work over many years with RSPCA Assured.

The Host of the night will be the incomparable Scottish comedian Fred MacAulay, a star of radio and television with appearances on Mock the Week, Have I Got News, I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue, Just A Minute, and The News Quiz, as well as his own long-running BBC Radio Scotland show.

“The Aquaculture Awards brings everyone together for an evening of celebration and entertainment while highlighting the sector’s most remarkable people. We would like to hear about all those who have gone the extra mile in the past 12 months, be they industry leaders, dedicated farm staff, technical visionaries, or organizations making scientific breakthroughs and driving the sector forward,” said Cheri Arvonio, event director.

The deadline for awards entries is February 12 and finalists will be announced by the judges on March 6. To see the full list of categories and to enter the Aquaculture Awards, visit